About Us

At Pine Forest Country Club, bringing people together is what sets us apart. Member-owned since 1945, generations of Houstonians have chosen Pine Forest as their home away from home. Rich in tradition, yet poised for the future, we delight in helping your family create memories to cherish for a lifetime.

Club History

Pine Forest Country Club, established in 1945, was originally located along North Shepherd Boulevard on 144 acres of tall pine tress. Legendary architect John Bredemus built the course during World War II, designing a tight woodsy course that hosted the University of Houston’s All-American Intercollegiate team for 15 years and was host to the 1949 Houston Open, won by Johnny Palmer by just one stroke.

Twenty-eight years after Bredemus completed his development, the club decided to move west of the city since three-fourths of its membership lived in the Memorial area. Paul Wahlberg located 186 acres at 18000 Clay Road, enough land for an 18-hole golf course. The vision however was for 27 holes and was realized with the acquisition of an additional 44 acres. Architect Jay Riviere designed the original 18-hole course, which consisted of the Green Nine and Gold Nine. On May 1, 1975, the facilities at Clay Road were opened only two weeks after the activities at the original location were closed for good. Some 300 trees were transplanted from the North Shepherd course and most of them survived. In 1985, architect Carlton Gipson was hired to add an additional nine holes, now called the White Nine.

Pine Forest has continued its growth by adapting to the development of Houston and its suburbs and enhancing the membership's amenities. 

Club Timeline

1945 – Pine Forest CC is established.

1949 – Houston Open host, won by
            Johnny Palmer

1963 – All American Intercollegiate
           Invitation Tournament.

1975 – Pine Forest CC moves to 
           current location in West

1985 – 18-hole course becomes
            27-hole course

2006 – Fitness Center opened

2011 – Resort Pool opened

2012 – Greens converted to Champion

Johnny Palmer